The Winners of 34th Blues Music Awards 2013 from the Blues Foundation

On Thursday, May 9, 2013 The Blues Foundation announced the winners of the 2013 Blues Music Awards at the Cook Convention Center in Memphis, Tennessee! 

The Blues Music Awards are universally recognized as the highest honor given to Blues artists, and close to 100 nominees in various categories are present for the memorable event. Soul blues singer Curtis Salgado won three awards, including the coveted B.B. King Entertainer Of The Year and Harmonicist/songwriter/vocalist Rick Estrin won for Instrumentalist Of The Year - Harmonica.

And the Winners are.... 

Acoustic Album

Not Alone – Ann Rabson w/ Bob Margolin

Acoustic Artist

Eric Bibb

Album of the Year

Show of Strength – Michael Burks

B.B. King Entertainer

Curtis Salgado


Tedeschi Trucks Band

Best New Artist Debut

They Call Me Big Llou – Big LLou Johnson

Contemporary Blues Album

Show of Strength – Michael Burks

Contemporary Blues Female Artist

Janiva Magness

Contemporary Blues Male Artist

Tab Benoit


Eagle Rock Entertainment – Muddy Waters & Rolling Stones, Live at Checkerboard Lounge

Gibson Guitar Award

Derek Trucks


Bob Stroger


Cedric Burnside


Rick Estrin


Eddie Shaw

Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female)

Ruthie Foster

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player

Victor Wainwright

Rock Blues Album

Everybody’s Talkin’ – Tedeschi Trucks Band

“I Wont Cry” written by Janiva Magness & Dave Darling – Stronger For It (Janiva Magness)

Soul Blues Album

Soul Shot – Curtis Salgado

Soul Blues Female Artist

Irma Thomas

Soul Blues Male Artist

Curtis Salgado

Traditional Blues Album

Double Dynamite – The Mannish Boys

Traditional Blues Male Artist

Magic Slim

Views: 493

Comments are closed for this blog post

social media


© 2023   Created by Michael Limnios Blues Network.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service